Hillary Johnson Photography

Gung Hay Fat Choy! Today Chinatown Chicago celebrated the start of a new year. According to their calendar this is the year of the dragon.

As I was shooting today I actually began to feel terribly frustrated. How to make a new image of a traditional, annual display?

And then I began to reflect on my inclination towards masses of color, painterly notions of late. Pair this with an inclination to high contrast…and the whole thing made me wonder about how to pair what I started the day thinking were opposing tendencies. That is historically, I’m a people photographer but lately looking at landscapes (defined very loosely) and the fields of color and texture. You can check out the paintings of Richard Bruce if you like for one example.

If it helps at all, I love Ad Reinhardt.

Then looking at a video of Florence and…

View original post 198 more words

Leave a Reply

